Private Lessons

Private Lesson & Teacher Contact Information

Private lessons are a vital element in a student’s musical life. The opportunity to study privately with a professional musician is one of the most important factors to an individual student’s success. These professionals provide detailed, specific, one-on-one instruction, tailored for your child. Private lessons challenge the advanced students and accelerate students who need extra attention. We have a very high percentage of our students enrolled in private lessons and want to make it even higher!

Private Lessons are taught at Highland Park Middle School, either before, during, or after school, depending on the teacher’s schedule.  Scheduling preference is usually first come, first serve.  Contact your teacher as soon as possible!  Lessons are 25 – 30 minutes, per week, at a cost of $20 per lesson.  This fee is set by the HPISD Fine Arts Department and is based on comparable fees for the DFW area.  The student makes payments directly to the teacher.

***Scholarships are available for families in need of financial assistance.  We highly encourage you to apply for a private lesson scholarship if needed!  Financial concerns should not impede involvement in private lessons.

If you are not currently taking lessons, please consider doing so!!! Remember, private lessons are offered as an enrichment activity and are not required for most instruments.  Though optional, please consider private lessons as a necessary part of the band program.

Private Lesson Staff

Instrument Teacher Contact
Flute  Margo Strull (972) 740.0647
mstrull@aol.com
Oboe Amy Wainscott (214) 729.3442
wainscott.amy@gmail.com
Bassoon Leslie Massenburg (469) 387.7358
lesliebassoon@gmail.com
Clarinet  Mickey Owens (214) 364.7856  mcowens1960@gmail.com
Saxophone Marc Dunbar (903) 486.2691
mhdunbar1@gmail.com
Trumpet Bert Truax (214) 789.3726
berttruax@mac.com
French Horn Tim Stevens (972) 533.5521
timothy_L_stevens@yahoo.com
Trombone Shawn Clokey (972) 814.8319
shawnclokey@my.unt.edu
Euphonium Carlos DeLeon (214) 918.0544 carlos.n.deleon@gmail.com
Tuba Michael Church (432) 638.1711
mochurch90@gmail.com
Percussion Doug Bush (940) 390.2740
dlbush108@hotmail.com
Percussion Jerime Harris (404) 200.4057
jerimeharris@gmail.com